Publish your Logical Data Model

After you create your logical data model, you can save the model. When you save a model that has datasets that you created form CSV files, you can also upload data from the CSV to the workspace. If your model uses datasets from a data source, you must save the model before you can upload the data. This article will explain how to save your logical data model.

Contents:

Save the Logical Data Model

Steps:

  1. Click Save.

    You are prompted with a list of changes to the model and a Summary health check. 
  2. Review the list of model changes and the summary of the saving outcomes. You can also view the change as MAQL.

  3.  Select the saving options.
    • Preserve data
      This option ensures that data loaded into the workspace from Data Sources or CSVs isn't deleted. This option is selected by default.
    • Upload data from imported CSV files
      This option displays when you create or update a dataset from a CSV file. Data contained in imported CSV files is uploaded to the dataset that was created from or based upon this file. If you do not want to load the data from the CSV file and want to only create the dataset or update its structure, de-select the checkbox. This option is selected by default.

  4. Click Save.
    The saving process starts. When the saving completes, you see a message that the LDM has been saved.

    If you created your datasets from a data source, you can now load the data from the data source to your workspace.

Force Save the Logical Data Model

Force saving overwrites the LDM in the workspace with the LDM being drafted in the LDM Modeler. You must Force Save when updates to the LDM include deleting an object that has dependencies in the workspace such as dashboards, insights, or metrics. Dependent objects are deleted as part of the saving process.

Force saving removes any metrics, attributes, facts, or dashboards from the workspace that were dependent on the deleted LDM object. Force saving cannot be undone.

Steps:

  1. Click Save.

    You are prompted with a list of changes to the model and a Summary health check.

  2. Review the list of model changes and the summary of the saving outcomes. You can also view the change as MAQL.

  3.  Select the saving options.
    • Preserve data
      This option ensures that data loaded into the workspace from Data Sources or CSVs isn't deleted. This option is selected by default.
    • Upload data from imported CSV files
      This option displays when you create or update a dataset from a CSV file. Data contained in imported CSV files is uploaded to the dataset that was created from or based upon this file. If you do not want to load the data from the CSV file and want to only create the dataset or update its structure, de-select the checkbox. This option is selected by default.

  4. Click Force Save.
    The saving process starts. When the saving completes, you see a message that the LDM has been saved.

    If you created your datasets from a data source, you can now load the data from the data source to your workspace.

Powered by Atlassian Confluence and Scroll Viewport.