Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Metrics, reports, and dashboards (objects) that you create on the GoodData Portal are hidden by default. Hidden objects can be accessed via link. This allows you to experiment and develop new objects privately, but still collaborate with other Administrators and Editors. You can choose to share an object with other users or groups by managing that object's permissions.

Contents:

Hiding and sharing objects is not a security feature. Any user can access any hidden object via its link. You can use data permissions to ensure security. For details, see 2018-11-30_01-40-32_Data Permissions for Beginners.

Hiding and sharing defines who can navigate to an object, not who can edit it. For information on how to change edit permissions, see Permission to Edit Project Metrics, Reports, and Dashboards.

Here is how sharing objects works:

  • You can share any object with all users in the project.
  • You can share dashboards with only specific users or groups. If you share a dashboard with a group, you are sharing the dashboard with all users in that group.
  • If you share a dashboard with a specific user, all of its reports and metrics become visible to that user on the dashboard. However, its reports and metrics are not available on the user's Reports and Metrics pages.
  • Objects that are not shared are marked with an eye icon ( ) on the GoodData Portal. If an object is shared with any user, the eye icon disappears.

Role-specific sharing permissions include:

  • Editors and Viewers cannot find hidden objects that they do not own, but they can access them via link.
  • If Editors hide objects that they do not own, they are hiding those objects from themselves.
  • Editors can always manage any object's visibility, even if they cannot edit the object itself.
  • Administrators can find and manage hidden metrics and reports:
    • If hidden reports exist, a Show hidden reports link appears on the Reports tab.
    • If hidden metrics exist, a Show hidden metrics link appears under Manage > Metrics.
  • Administrators cannot find hidden dashboards, but they can access them via link or API.

Give Users Access to Hidden Objects

You can share metrics and reports with all users in a project, or keep them visible only to yourself. You can share dashboards with specific users or all users.

To give users access to a hidden report, dashboard, or metric, send them its link.

Editors cannot edit objects whose edit permissions are set to Only Admins. FOr details, see Permission to Edit Project Metrics, Reports, and Dashboards.

Hide or Share a Report

You can hide a report or share it will all users in a project. You cannot share reports with only specific users.

Steps:

  1. Do one of the following:
    • In the Report Editor, click Options > Settings.
    • On the Reports page, select the report and click Permissions….
  2. Select the desired Visibility and click Set Permissions.

Hide or Share a Metric

You can hide a metric or share it will all users in a project. You cannot share metrics with only specific users.

Steps:

  1. From the Metrics page, select a metric.
  2. Click Sharing & Permissions....
  3. Select the desired Visibility and click Set Permissions.

Hide or Share a Dashboard

When you create a new dashboard, it is hidden by default. This allows you to experiment and develop the dashboard privately, and then share it only after it is complete. Dashboards can be hidden from all other users, shared with specific users and groups, or shared with all users in the project.
Here is how sharing dashboards works:

Use user groups to easily share dashboards with multiple users.

  • If you share a dashboard with specific users or groups, all of its reports and metrics become visible to that user from the dashboard. However, its reports and metrics are not available on the users' Reports or Metrics menus.
  • If you share a dashboard with all users, all of its reports and metrics are also shared with all users. If you then rehide the dashboard, its reports and metrics remain shared unless you rehide them individually.
  • If a dashboard is shared with any user, the eye icon (  ) in the GoodData Portal disappears.
  • The entire dashboard is always shared. You cannot share individual tabs.
  • Any user can access a dashboard that is not shared with them if they have its link.

Steps:

  1. Open the dashboard whose visibility you want to change.
  2. Click the gear icon and select Sharing & Permissions.
  3. Click Change visibility, select one of the following options, and click Done:
    • To share the dashboard with all users in the project, select Everyone.
    • To share the dashboard with specific users, select Specific users can access. Click Add users to share with additional users or groups. To remove sharing, click the X next to that user or group.
       

See Who a Dashboard is Shared With

Reports and metrics can be shared with all users or hidden, but cannot be shared with specific users. Hidden metrics and reports are marked with an eye icon (  ) on the GoodData Portal.

Dashboards can be shared with specific users or shared with all users. If a dashboard is shared with any user, no eye icon appears.

Steps:

  1. Open the dashboard whose sharing permissions you want to see.
  2. Click the gear icon and select Sharing & Permissions.
    The Sharing & Permissions dialog appears. You can review sharing permissions on this dialog.
  • No labels